Like most states, Alaska requires drivers to buy car insurance before operating a vehicle. Alaska requires coverage amounts of $50,000 per person for bodily injury or death, and $100,000 per accident. Alaska also requires $25,000 property damage insurance coverage. Unfortunately, not all drivers comply with these requirements. Too many drivers on our Alaska roads have no insurance at all. If you’ve been in an accident with an Uninsured Motorist, getting your medical bills, lost wages, pain and suffering reimbursed can be challenging. Fortunately, there is at least one step drivers can take to improve their chance of recovery following an accident caused by an uninsured motorist: purchase uninsured motorist coverage.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage
Insurance companies in Alaska are required by law to offer Uninsured/Underinsured motorist coverage. In the event of an accident with an uninsured or underinsured motorist, a policyholder who has purchased Uninsured/Underinsured coverage is typically able to secure necessary financial assistance via his or her own insurance company. In addition to accounting for accidents with uninsured/underinsured drivers, this coverage also applies to accidents with unknown drivers (hit and run) as well as bicycle – and even pedestrian – collisions with motor vehicles.
Steps to Take Following an Accident with an Uninsured Driver
If you’ve been in an accident with an uninsured motorist, you should immediately report the incident to both your insurance company and the police. In addition, take the following steps to substantiate your claim:
- Take pictures – If possible, take or obtain pictures of the accident scene. Also take photos of all visible injuries.
- Collect medical records – After receiving medical care, collect copies of all medical records and bills to prove injuries.
- Get the police report – If police respond to the accident, get a copy of the corresponding Police Report. It should contain statements and important information about the accident
- Gather receipts and any additional records – All accident-related records and receipts should be accumulated, as these will detail financial losses related to the incident.
If you’ve been in an accident with an uninsured driver, seek the help of professional counsel to protect your rights to proper compensation. Contact the highly experienced personal injury attorneys in Alaska, Merdes Law Office, P.C. today: 907.452.5400. The Merdes Law Firm is Board Certified and AV rated. The Merdes Law Firm is Board Certified and AV Rated. They have more than 25 years of experience, helping people who have been injured and the families of people who have been killed in Alaska. For further information please visit www.Merdes.com.